Historic Preservation Commission (HPC)

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The Historic Preservation Commission reviews applications for Certificates of Appropriateness for exterior work in Greensboro's three local Historic Districts.

The commission meets on the last Wednesday of each month at 4 pm in the Plaza Level Conference Room in the Melvin Municipal Office Building, 300 W. Washington St., unless otherwise noted below. 

The Historic Preservation Commission is a nine-member board appointed by the City Council. Members must be qualified based on interest or experience in history, architecture, archaeology, or related fields. Meetings are conducted according to established Rules of Procedure.

If you are interested in serving on the Historic Preservation Commission, please submit this form along with your resume to the City Clerk.

* Please note the November and December meetings are combined. 

2018 Historic Preservation Commission Meeting Schedule

Application Deadline 

Meeting Date 


 January 17

 January 31


 February 14

 February 28


 March 14

 March 28


 April 11

 April 25


 May 16

 May 30


 June 13

 June 27


 July 11

 July 25


 August 15

 August 29


 September 12

 September 26


 October 17

 October 31


 November 21

  December 5


Historic Preservation Commission Members

David Wharton

David Arneke

Historic District Representatives
David Wharton, Dunleath District
David Arneke, College Hill Historic District
Tracy Pratt, Fisher Park Historic District

At-Large Members
Amanda Hodierne 
David Hoggard
Linda Lane
C. Wayne Smith 
Ann Stringfield
Carlos D. Townsend