Skip to page body Home I Want To... City News City Government Living Visiting Business and Development
The Historic Preservation Commission reviews applications for Certificates of Appropriateness for exterior work in Greensboro's three local Historic Districts.

The commission meets on the last Wednesday of each month at 4 pm in the Plaza Level Conference Room in the Melvin Municipal Office Building, 300 W. Washington St., unless otherwise noted below. 

The Historic Preservation Commission is a nine-member board appointed by the City Council. Members must be qualified based on interest or experience in history, architecture, archaeology, or related fields. Meetings are conducted according to established Rules of Procedure.

If you are interested in serving on the Historic Preservation Commission, please submit this form along with your resume to the City Clerk.

2017 Meeting Schedule

Meeting Date            Application Deadline
January 25                       January 11
February 22                      February 8
March 29                          March 15
April 26                             April 12
May 31                              May 17
June 28                             June 14
July 26 - Canceled            July 12
August 30                          August 16
September 27                   September 13
October 25                        October 11
December 13*                   November 29

* Please note the November and December meetings are combined. 

Historic Preservation Commission Members

David Wharton

David Arneke

Historic District Representatives
David Wharton, Dunleath District
David Arneke, College Hill Historic District
Tracy Pratt, Fisher Park Historic District

At-Large Members
Amanda Hodierne 
David Hoggard
Linda Lane
C. Wayne Smith 
Ann Stringfield
Carlos D. Townsend


Last updated: 9/28/2017 4:05:53 PM