Minimum Housing Standards Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Minimum Housing Standards Commission members are appointed by City Council for terms that expire annually on August 15. The current members are:

  • Peter Isakoff, chair 
  • Robert Kollar, vice chair 
  • Carolyn Biggerstaff
  • Quentin Brown
  • Suzanne Nazim
  • Andrew Young
  • Heidi Fleshman
  • Janne Cannon (alternate)

If you are interested in serving on the Minimum Housing Standards Commission, please complete and submit this form.

The duties of the Minimum Housing Standards Commission are to:

  1. Study rental rates, the need for reconditioning or condemnation and other housing conditions within the city, and make recommendations to City Council concerning these matters
  2. Perform other duties as may be assigned it from time to time by City Council
  3. Hear and determine appeals from decisions of the inspector upon any provision of Chapter 11 or articles I and II of Chapter 17 of the City's Code of Ordinances.

The commission may inspect houses and living quarters in the city, and has the right to enter with the inspector for that purpose in accordance with applicable law.  

Meetings are held the second Thursday of every month in the Council Chamber of the Melvin Municipal Office Building, 300 W. Washington St. See map for location. 

Review commission agenda and minutes.

Address: 300 W. Washington St., Greensboro, NC